Skillsive

Free tool

RealWear Navigator 520 vs Vuzix M400

Both devices below are described from their manufacturers’ own specification pages. Where a row does not apply to one of them, it says so rather than showing a dash — that is a different statement from “the maker does not publish it”.

  • RealWear Navigator 520

    RealWear · Enterprise

    This device is not sold in consumer stores — the price comes with an offer.

  • Vuzix M400

    Vuzix · Enterprise

    This device is not sold in consumer stores — the price comes with an offer.

Differences you can see

Pictures first, table second. Every chart is computed from the same published fields you can read below it — nothing here is an illustration.

  • RealWear Navigator 520
  • Vuzix M400

Resolution per eye

Panels at true pixel scale, one inside the other.

The sharpest panel here has 300% more pixels per eye than the softest — that is what you gain on small text inside a scene.

Field of view

Seen from above. The grey area is roughly the human binocular field (~200°).

  • RealWear Navigator 52024° (axis not stated)
  • Vuzix M40016.8° (axis not stated)

One of these manufacturers publishes an angle without saying which axis it is measured on. Reviewers usually read those figures as diagonal, which would make the real horizontal field narrower than the wedge suggests — so treat the shapes as an impression, not as a ranking.

These angles are NOT measured the same way, so the wedges cannot be read as “this one is wider”. A pair of human eyes covers about 200° for reference.

Weight

On the whole catalogue’s scale, from 30 g to 830 g.

RealWear Navigator 520274 g
Vuzix M400182 g*
30 g830 g

Battery

On the whole catalogue’s scale, from 45 min to 540 min; a handful of outliers, up to 2880 min, sit beyond it.

RealWear Navigator 520480 min
Vuzix M400120 min
45 min540 min

On sale, and supported

Two different questions: how long you can still buy it new, and how long the manufacturer keeps updating it. The dashed line is the end of a three-year training programme (2029).

RealWear Navigator 520 on sale since 2023 · no published end of support

Vuzix M400 on sale since 2019 · no published end of support

20182030

Sold and supported are not the same thing. A model can leave the shelves while its maker keeps shipping software to the units you already own — and it can stay on the shelves with no published support commitment at all.

What actually differs

Computed from the two records, most decisive first.

  • Launch price

    RealWear Navigator 520
    Vuzix M400
    $1800
  • Resolution per eye

    RealWear Navigator 520
    1280x720
    Vuzix M400
    640x360
  • Field of view

    RealWear Navigator 520
    24°
    Vuzix M400
    16.8°
  • Brightness

    RealWear Navigator 520
    Vuzix M400
    2000 nits
  • Weight

    RealWear Navigator 520
    274 g
    Vuzix M400
    182 g
  • Battery

    RealWear Navigator 520
    480 min
    Vuzix M400
    120 min
  • Manufacturer

    RealWear Navigator 520
    RealWear
    Vuzix M400
    Vuzix
  • Announced

    RealWear Navigator 520
    2023-01-03
    Vuzix M400
    2019-03-21
  • Released

    RealWear Navigator 520
    2023
    Vuzix M400
    2019
  • Certifications

    RealWear Navigator 520
    IP66 · MIL-STD-810H
    Vuzix M400
    IP67 · IEC 60601-1-2 · ISO 14644-1 Class 2
  • Processor

    RealWear Navigator 520
    Qualcomm Snapdragon 662
    Vuzix M400
    Qualcomm Snapdragon XR1
  • CPU

    RealWear Navigator 520
    Octa-core Kryo 260 (4 x 2 GHz, 4 x 1.8 GHz)
    Vuzix M400
    Octa-core Kryo (2 x 2.52 GHz, 6 x 1.7 GHz)

They match on 18 further specifications.

Full specification, row by row

31 of 73 rows differ.

Specifications of the selected headsets, one column per model
Specification
ManufacturerWho makes it — and who you buy support from.RealWearVuzix
CategoryWhich kind of product this is. It decides which rows below make sense at all.AR — industrialAR — industrial
Device typeWhere the computing happens, and therefore what you need to run it.Standalone ARStandalone AR
AnnouncedThe day it was shown, which is not the day it shipped.2023-01-032019-03-21
ReleasedYear the model went on sale. Older is not automatically worse in this category.20232019
AvailabilityWhether you can still order it new today.On saleOn sale
Support endsThe date the manufacturer stops supporting it. Decisive for a fleet you are about to buy.Support ends: not published by the manufacturerSupport ends: not published by the manufacturer
DisplayHow the image is produced. "No display" is a real answer in this category, not a gap.LCD, one eyeMicro-OLED, one eye
Eyes coveredOne eye or both. Over a full shift this is a real difference in fatigue.One eyeOne eye
Resolution per eyePixels delivered to each eye. Higher means small text and labels stay readable.1280x720640x360*VR Expert review
Refresh rateImages per second. Higher feels smoother and helps people prone to motion discomfort.Refresh rate: not published by the manufacturerRefresh rate: not published by the manufacturer
Field of viewHow much of your view the image covers. Bigger is more immersive, not automatically better for work.24°16.8°
Pixel densityPixels per degree of view — the honest way to compare sharpness between a headset and a pair of glasses. Higher is sharper. Only shown where somebody published it; we never compute it ourselves.Pixel density: not published by the manufacturerPixel density: not published by the manufacturer
BrightnessIn a plant or outdoors, brightness decides legibility more than resolution does.Brightness: not published by the manufacturer2000 nits
WeightThe device alone. Anything above roughly 150 g is felt within an hour.274 g182 g*VR Expert review
Visible field of viewWhat the eye actually sees through the optics, by axis.Visible field of view: not published by the manufacturerVisible field of view: not published by the manufacturer
Rendered field of viewWhat the device draws. Never smaller than what you see.Rendered field of view: not published by the manufacturerRendered field of view: not published by the manufacturer
Binocular overlapWhere both eyes see the same thing — this is where depth happens.Binocular overlap: not published by the manufacturerBinocular overlap: not published by the manufacturer
Average pixel densityPixels per degree across the image. More is sharper.Average pixel density: not published by the manufacturerAverage pixel density: not published by the manufacturer
Peak pixel densityThe sharpest point, usually the centre of the lens.Peak pixel density: not published by the manufacturerPeak pixel density: not published by the manufacturer
Subpixel layoutHow the coloured dots sit in a pixel. A stripe looks cleaner on text than PenTile.RGB stripe · 3 subpixels per pixelSubpixel layout: not published by the manufacturer
Foveated renderingWhether detail is dropped outside where you look, to save performance.Foveated rendering: not published by the manufacturerFoveated rendering: not published by the manufacturer
Vision correctionHow somebody who wears glasses uses it, and in what dioptre range.Fits over glassesVision correction: not published by the manufacturer
DimensionsWidth, height and depth of the device itself.Dimensions: not published by the manufacturerDimensions: not published by the manufacturer
Weight with strapWith the strap it ships with — the weight you actually wear.Weight with strap: not published by the manufacturerWeight with strap: not published by the manufacturer
Head strapSoft band or a rigid one. Decides how the weight sits over an hour.HeadbandGlasses frame
MaterialsShell and facial interface, in the vendor’s words.Plastic · Plastic
ColoursColours the manufacturer sells it in.BlackBlack
Haptics in the headsetVibration in the headset itself, not in the controllers.NoNo
TrackingWhether content stays put in the room (6DoF), follows head rotation (3DoF) or is simply fixed.3DoF (rotation only)3DoF (rotation only)
Tracking camerasHow many cameras it uses to know where it is.Tracking cameras: not published by the manufacturerTracking cameras: not published by the manufacturer
Tracking rateHow often position is recalculated. Higher is steadier.Tracking rate: not published by the manufacturerTracking rate: not published by the manufacturer
Depth sensorA dedicated sensor for distance, on top of the cameras.Depth sensor: not published by the manufacturerDepth sensor: not published by the manufacturer
Hand trackingWhether bare hands can operate the interface, without a controller or the phone.NoNo
Face trackingTracks facial expression — for avatars, not for training scenarios.NoNo
Body trackingHow much of the body the device knows about. Estimated legs are not tracked legs.NoneNone
Controllers includedWhether motion controllers come in the box, or are bought separately — or the device is hands-only.Controllers included: not published by the manufacturerControllers included: not published by the manufacturer
Controller tracking6DoF controllers track position and rotation, so a hand reaches in space; 3DoF only point. “None” means hands only.Controller tracking: not published by the manufacturerController tracking: not published by the manufacturer
Other input methodsWays in beyond controllers and bare hands.VoiceVoice · Touchpad on the temple
Where it computesWhether the device computes on its own or depends on a phone, PC or belt-worn puck.Standalone (own computer)Standalone (own computer)
ProcessorThe processor and memory inside. This is what the performance grade above is derived from.Qualcomm Snapdragon 662Qualcomm Snapdragon XR1
CPUCores and clocks, where the manufacturer publishes them.Octa-core Kryo 260 (4 x 2 GHz, 4 x 1.8 GHz)Octa-core Kryo (2 x 2.52 GHz, 6 x 1.7 GHz)
GPUThe graphics part of the chip.Adreno 610Adreno 615
MemoryRAM on the device. Together with the chipset it sets how complex a scene can be.4 GB6 GB
PlatformThe platform an application is built against — and what an MDM has to speak.Android AOSP + WearHF 11Android 13
StorageOn-board space for downloaded courses. More matters for an offline library in several languages.Storage: not published by the manufacturerStorage: not published by the manufacturer
SD card slotWhether storage can be added with a card.YesNo
BatteryRuntime as the manufacturer states it. A hot-swappable pack matters more than the figure.480 min120 min
Battery capacity (Wh)Energy in the cell. Bigger is longer, given the same power draw.10 WhBattery capacity (Wh): not published by the manufacturer
Battery capacity (mAh)The same fact in the other unit vendors use. We never convert between the two.2600 mAh135 mAh
Charge timeFrom empty to full. Rarely stated by the manufacturer, so it usually comes from whoever timed it.Charge time: not published by the manufacturerCharge time: not published by the manufacturer
ChargerPower of the supplied charger — it decides the charge time above.Charger: not published by the manufacturerCharger: not published by the manufacturer
External batteryBattery on a cable or a puck instead of on the head.External battery: not published by the manufacturerYes
Charging caseExtra runtime carried in the case the glasses ship with.Charging case: not published by the manufacturerCharging case: not published by the manufacturer
Hot-swap batteryWhether a charged battery can replace the empty one without ending the session. This is what decides if a headset can hold an all-day training station.YesYes
Third-party appsHow a third party's application reaches the device: an ordinary Android package, a vendor-only SDK, or not at all.Ordinary Android app (APK)Ordinary Android app (APK)
Runs Skillsive appsOur own statement about whether Skillsive training applications run on it today.NoNo
Suitable for trainingOur judgement on whether it survives real deployment: comfort, hygiene, fleet management.Suitable for training: not published by the manufacturerSuitable for training: not published by the manufacturer
Kiosk mode / MDMVendor tooling to enrol devices, push an app and lock the headset to it. Practically required above ten devices.YesYes
Business tierAn official business tier, so devices belong to the company rather than to employees’ personal accounts.Business tier: not published by the manufacturerBusiness tier: not published by the manufacturer
CertificationsIndustrial certifications stated on the manufacturer's own page. Empty means unconfirmed, never "probably fine".IP66 · MIL-STD-810HIP67 · IEC 60601-1-2 · ISO 14644-1 Class 2
PortsPhysical sockets and charging contacts.USB Type-CUSB 3.1 Gen 2 Type-C
Wi-FiThe Wi-Fi generation — it decides how well wireless streaming holds up.Wi-Fi5 (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac)
BluetoothFor controllers, headphones and accessories.5.15.0 BR/EDR/LE
Video from a computerWhether a computer can drive it, over a cable or wirelessly.Video from a computer: not published by the manufacturerVideo from a computer: not published by the manufacturer
AudioBuilt-in sound. Matters most where somebody has to hear a remote expert while working.Built-in speakers · Headphone jackBuilt-in speakers
MicrophoneBuilt-in microphone — the other half of talking to a remote expert.YesYes
MicrophonesHow many. An array picks a voice out of a noisy hall; one does not.43
CameraA camera is what makes a remote expert call and photo documentation possible.YesYes
Price bandThe band it sits in, rather than a price that goes stale.EnterpriseEnterprise
Launch priceThe manufacturer's launch price. Fixed history, so it never goes stale.Launch price: not published by the manufacturer$1800
Price by configurationWhat each configuration cost at launch.Price by configuration: not published by the manufacturerPrice by configuration: not published by the manufacturer
Price todayApproximate current net price in USD — a general figure, since these barely differ between regions once tax is stripped out. A snapshot from the date shown, not an offer.$3150$1499.99

“—” means the manufacturer does not publish that figure. “≈” with an asterisk means it was measured by somebody else — follow the asterisk for who. Prices are an indicative net figure in USD, a snapshot from the date on each model page, not an offer.

Product and company names used here are the trademarks of their respective owners and appear only to identify the hardware being compared. We are not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by any of these manufacturers. Illustrations are our own.