Skillsive
Back to the comparison
Tilt Five

Tilt Five · 2021 · PC-powered AR

Tilt Five

Projector glasses that draw a shared 3D scene onto a retroreflective gameboard on the table, not into the room.

Display
See-through, both eyes (type not stated)
Brightness
Weight
100 g
Field of view
110°
Battery
Runs Skillsive apps
No

from $359

approximate street price, checked 08/16/2026

The link opens a search in an external store. We are not the seller.

Buy on Amazon

Need more than one?

Rolling out a fleet of devices? We come back with an offer from an authorised reseller in your country.

Tilt Five — specification and verdict

The Tilt Five is not a headset you look through at the world. It is a pair of 100 g glasses with two 1280x720 LCoS pico-projectors that throw an image onto a retroreflective gameboard and bounce it back to your eyes. That buys a 110-degree field of view over the board, but the picture only exists where the board is: look up from the table and there is nothing to see. Head tracking is marker-based off the board itself, read by one of the two infrared cameras in the frame. All rendering happens on a host Windows PC or Android device over a single USB-C cable, so the glasses carry no battery of their own. For training the useful consequence is that everyone around one table sees the same 3D object at the same time and can still see each other's faces.

You buy a kit, not a headset: glasses, one Tilt Five Wand and a gameboard, and Tilt Five states that glasses cannot be bought separately. The entry Ready Player 1 Bundle is 359 USD, the two-player bundle 499 USD and the Game Night Bundle 699 USD, but as of 2026-08-10 the site carries a blanket out-of-stock notice directing partners and institutions to contact the company, so a fleet order is a conversation rather than a checkout. There is no vendor MDM, no kiosk mode and no enterprise licensing programme: each station is a Windows or Android host you manage with your existing tooling. Content is your own build against the Tilt Five SDK. Beyond the kit, budget a host machine per seat, enough table for the unfolded gameboard, and AA batteries for every wand.

Buy it if what you teach is genuinely a tabletop model a group has to read together, and you have a developer who will build against the SDK. Do not buy it as a VR training headset: it is PC- or Android-tethered augmented reality with nothing to see away from the board, and our Android VR courses do not run on it. For standalone safety training a 6DoF standalone headset is the right purchase and the Tilt Five is a complement at best.

How it compares within its class

The axis runs from the lowest to the highest published figure among the AR — spatial devices in this catalogue. The grey tick is the median of that class.

Field of view110°
26°110°

Median for this class: 51°, from 9 models that publish the figure.

Weight100 g
60 g579 g

Median for this class: 132 g, from 9 models that publish the figure.

Launch price$359
$359$3500

Median for this class: $1900, from 9 models that publish the figure.

Controllers and hand tracking

Tilt Five Wand

Tilt Five Wand

6DoF

Seven infrared LEDs read by the two IR cameras in the glasses, which are looking down at the retroreflective board anyway. 88 g on a single AA cell, with a trigger, a stick and seven buttons — a tabletop game controller that happens to be tracked in 3D.

In the box

How it is tracked

Headset cameras

The headset watches markers on the controller, so it loses a hand held behind the back or low at the hip until it comes back into view.

The controller itself

Controller weight
88 g
Controller power
AA batteries
Controller haptics
Yes
Finger tracking on the controller
None
Controller inputs
index trigger · joystick · 7 buttons

Other controllers

This headset’s own controllers only

Bare hands

No hand tracking — a controller is the only way in.

Full specification

An em dash means the manufacturer does not publish that figure.

ManufacturerWho makes it — and who you buy support from.
Tilt Five
CategoryWhich kind of product this is. It decides which rows below make sense at all.
AR — spatial
Device typeWhere the computing happens, and therefore what you need to run it.
PC-powered AR
AnnouncedThe day it was shown, which is not the day it shipped.
2019-09-24
ReleasedYear the model went on sale. Older is not automatically worse in this category.
2021
AvailabilityWhether you can still order it new today.
On sale
Support endsThe date the manufacturer stops supporting it. Decisive for a fleet you are about to buy.
Support ends: not published by the manufacturer

DisplayHow the image is produced. "No display" is a real answer in this category, not a gap.
See-through, both eyes (type not stated)
Eyes coveredOne eye or both. Over a full shift this is a real difference in fatigue.
Both eyes
Resolution per eyePixels delivered to each eye. Higher means small text and labels stay readable.
1280x720
Refresh rateImages per second. Higher feels smoother and helps people prone to motion discomfort.
Refresh rate: not published by the manufacturer
Field of viewHow much of your view the image covers. Bigger is more immersive, not automatically better for work.
110°
Pixel densityPixels per degree of view — the honest way to compare sharpness between a headset and a pair of glasses. Higher is sharper. Only shown where somebody published it; we never compute it ourselves.
Pixel density: not published by the manufacturer
BrightnessIn a plant or outdoors, brightness decides legibility more than resolution does.
Brightness: not published by the manufacturer
WeightThe device alone. Anything above roughly 150 g is felt within an hour.
100 g

Who this device is for

This suits museums, classrooms, design reviews and R&D groups where a few people lean over the same shared 3D model while keeping eye contact and wearing their own prescription glasses, which the frame is designed to fit over. It does not suit a training department that wants headsets it can hand out, lock down and update centrally.

What is missing, and what the manufacturer does not publish

Tilt Five publishes brightness in lumens rather than nits and gives no refresh rate, no frame dimensions and no ambient-light guidance, so how well a projected image survives a lit classroom cannot be judged from the spec sheet. The company's own page says about 100 g while a launch-era press article said 80 g; we kept the manufacturer's figure. Nothing on the site announces a discontinuation, yet the shop has been out of stock and the newsroom silent since May 2025, and no end-of-support date is published for the drivers or the SDK.

Tilt Five in independent reviews

Reviews we consider worth your time, each with a note on what the reviewer actually tested and why it matters for a training rollout. We do not own this hardware, so the tests are theirs — the reading of them is ours.

  • Adam Savage’s Tested2023

    Norm walks through the pico-projector hardware that makes the tabletop illusion work, compares the AR experience against other headsets and plays several games with the wand controller. His conclusion — that this is the kind of comfortable AR that makes sense for location-based experiences — is exactly the frame a training buyer should apply to it.

    Watch on YouTube
  • EEVblog2022

    An electronics engineer's unboxing, and the most practically useful video here: the chapter list runs through the retroreflective game board, the USB 3 connection and fan cooling, the robustness of the frames, and a first test that fails before it works. If you are planning a deployment, the failure and what fixed it are the part to watch.

    Watch on YouTube
  • UploadVR2023

    UploadVR's CES segment, notable for a single claim: after years of AR demos they call this the best one they have seen, and they credit the lightweight wide-field optics rather than the software. Useful as the enthusiastic end of the range next to the engineering-minded videos above.

    Watch on YouTube
  • LabCat2022

    An owner's amateur review, filmed free-hand through the glasses rather than captured from the PC. The image quality suffers for it, and that is the point — it is the closest thing here to what the system actually looks like on a face, which no press capture shows.

    Watch on YouTube

Nothing is sent to YouTube until you press play. Once you do, Google receives your IP address and device data and may process them outside the EEA — see our privacy policy for the details.

Tilt Five — frequently asked questions

Do the Tilt Five glasses work without the gameboard?
No. The projectors in the frame have no screen of their own; they need the retroreflective gameboard to bounce the image back to your eyes. Away from the board the glasses show nothing, which is why every kit ships with a board and why Tilt Five does not sell the glasses on their own.
Can Tilt Five run Skillsive VR training courses?
No. Our courses are standalone Android VR applications, while the Tilt Five is tethered augmented reality that renders on a host Windows PC or Android device and displays only on its board. There is no headset operating system to install an APK into, so anything you want to show has to be built against the Tilt Five SDK.
Can you still buy a Tilt Five in 2026?
Not through ordinary retail. On 2026-08-10 the shop still listed bundles from 359 USD up to 699 USD, but under a site-wide out-of-stock notice saying partners and institutions should contact the company directly. Treat availability as a direct enquiry, and ask about driver and SDK support before committing to a fleet.

Compare this device

Consider these too

The nearest devices in the same class, ranked by availability and launch price — not by our opinion of them.

Specifications checked against the manufacturer's page on 2026-08-16. Manufacturer's specification

Product and company names used here are the trademarks of their respective owners and appear only to identify the hardware being compared. We are not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by any of these manufacturers. Illustrations are our own.